Elf Fantasy Fair

To be honest with you I did not know what to expect when I was invited to go to EFF, or the elf fantasy fair here in the Netherlands. The name of the fair pretty much tells you enough about what kind of event it was. It was, in essence a lot of nerds dressing up. I’ll have to be honest with you I did not recognize a great deal of the costumes here though we did meet famous figures as Peter Pan and Edward Scissorhands.(Pictured below) Something else that struck me was the effort some people had put into their costumes. Granted not everyone had costumes but those that did, for the most part, were really extravagant. Plenty of big puffy dresses, some form of body paint and make up and interesting accessories.

The venue was an old castle in Arcen, The Netherlands though I have to be honest with you, it was not so much a castle as a very big house and grounds, beautiful grounds though with parks of different kinds as well as a lake in which flamingoes and another bird not native to Holland that I’m not familiar with could be found. Which, I took to immediately.

In addition to thousands of people dressed up there was plenty of stalls from which you can buy various items relating to the realm of fantasy, such as plenty of knives and swords, posters, calendars, you get the idea. There was also some tents with blacksmiths, owls and people teaching you how to use a bow and arrow. In the end it was quite along day which involved over 7 hours of traveling for me so I was happy to get back home. I have to admit that though i was apprehensive in going at first it turned out to be a great deal of fun and if anything certainly an interesting experience.

I have more photos on my flickr account at http://www.flickr.com/photos/dmatsui/sets/72157625017219348/

Leave a Reply

